Ultralamb

This is really just a boned and butterflied leg of lamb, seasoned and cooked on charcoal.

Saying it’s cooked on charcoal is redundant, because everything at  Dave’s Bar and Grill is cooked on charcoal.

I buy these legs  from the supermarket if I can because they’re fine. They come in cryo-packs ready seasoned and are very good value. I’ve boned them out myself a few times but it’s a pain, and I’ve bought them from the butcher and had her bone them, but it’s been relatively expensive. Not a major problem, but I go simple and cheap if I can.

Another advantage of the  cryo-packs is you can see how much they weigh and choose the best one for your needs. As a guide I use a kilo for four people.  If trying to impress, I’d go a bit bigger if possible, and an advantage with going big is the leftovers are superb in cold lamb sandwiches for the next few days.

To cook, just take it out of the pack, slap dried herbs on it for good measure and let it come up to room temp for a couple of hours before cooking.

Yes –  cook at room temp. That’s important.

If it has one side that’s more fatty than the other, then cook that one first. The fat goes black and renders down nicely. The, when the coals are lower, the leaner side can cook.

Here you can see the lamb over the coals. I do believe that it works best covered. If you don’t have a cover like the one I use below (from a Cobb Oven) then a piece of aluminium foil is fine.

Timing is important, and something you need to do with confidence. Remember that if it’s undercooked you can always cook it more, but once you’ve lost your nerve and given it those extra ten minutes it didn’t need then there’s no return.

My take is – for 1 kilo; ten minutes, turn, ten minutes on the other side, rest for ten then carve. 10-10-10. The resting is important, but I don’t think you need to do it as long as most people say.

For two kilos I’d go 20-20-15.

Here’s my 1 kilo leg having just been turned at 10 mins.

Resting is important. However, I think that people who work in commercial kitchens have this idea that we all have places where things can rest nicely at serving temp, but often at home we don’t. I don’t like to serve meat cold, so I rest in an oven-warmed dish with alfoil over the top, and that generally works well.

Carve as shown in the top pic, return to the warm resting dish, and let your guests serve themselves a the table.

